Ansgar Fog (1880-1930) and Erik Mørup (1879-1972) founded the company Fog & Mørup (F&M) in 1904, having acquired an “ironmongery and consignment warehouse” in Fiskergyde in Aarhus, with an large inventory of amongst other things paraffin lamps, gas lanterns and their accessories.
The company started as an agent and wholesaler business in Aarhus, and in 1906 the company moved to Copenhagen and began specializing in lighting. Opening their first factory on 1 April 1915 at Nørregade 7, and by starting up production of lamps and chandeliers, F&M were on their way to become a major part of Danish lighting design history.
In the years to follow Fog & Mørup were successful in taking over a number of rival lamp and lighting manufactures, and by the early 1960’s, the company was excelling with new and innovating designs. This new position on the market, is widely contributed to in 1957, having recruited Johannes “Jo” Hammerborg as the company’s chief designer.
During his 27 years at F&M Jo Hammerborg created a large number of modern and stunning designs, which went on to become internationally recognized,
and made the company famous in Denmark and abroad. To this day many of his pieces are still in high demand internationally.
Jo Hammerborg retired in 1980 and died (in a tragic parachuting accident) in 1983.
As an independent company F&M ‘s history ended in 1978, when Fog & Mørup merged with LYFA, although the lamps were still marketed under separate brands. In the early 1980s the LYFA / Fog & Mørup constellation was taken over by rival Lyskær Belysning – and the Fog & Mørup brand was discontinued. LYFA and Lyskær Belysning ended up being acquired by Horn Lighting (E.S. Horn) in 1991.